Re-locating a lessonΒΆ

Note

This functionality relates to moving just one instance of a lesson to a different location. If you want to change all the instances of a lesson then it should probably be done through your MIS in the usual way.

There are various reasons why it might be desirable to move a single instance of a timetabled lesson to a different room. The teacher of the lesson might want to move it to a specialized room (e.g. an ICT suite), or it might be necessary to move all the lessons out of a given room to allow for something else to happen.

Permissions to re-locate lessons are controlled by your system administrator, but in general individual teachers can re-locate their own lessons, whilst certain nominated users can re-locate any lesson.

To re-locate a particular lesson, simply click on the lesson in the calendar view. The usual event details dialogue will be displayed, and if you have permission to re-locate the lesson then a link will be there - “Relocate lesson”.

_images/relocate1.png

Click on the link and a new pop-down entry box will appear, which after a very short delay will be populated with a list of available rooms.

Note

The rooms available here are configured by your system adminstrator. You will usually find that they are grouped by building or function (or both).

_images/relocate2.png

The system automatically shows you only rooms which are free at the required time. Click on the one which you want and then click on OK to re-locate your lesson.

_images/relocate3.png

To move a lesson back to its original location, use the same dialogue and choose the first entry in the list.

Once a lesson has been re-located in this way, it acquires the “Re-located” property, and so all re-located lessons can be viewed at once using the usual event selection tools.

_images/relocate4.png